#5SmartReads - April 25, 2023

Hitha on Sudan, the SNAP program, and on hair aging and acceptance

The evacuation of international diplomats and NGO workers in Sudan has made headlines in the States, but a lot of the reporting fails to detail why these workers are returning to their home bases.

This is why.

“Fighting began in the early hours of Saturday, April 15, between the Sudanese Armed Forces (SAF), the country’s military, run by Gen. Abdel Fattah al-Burhan, and the Rapid Support Forces (RSF), a government paramilitary organization controlled by Gen. Mohamed Hamdan Dagalo, commonly called Hemedti. Hostilities arose after an agreement between the two sides to negotiate a transition from military to civilian-led government and a timetable for integration of the RSF into the regular army fizzled amid rising tensions between the two sides.

Following a week of many failed attempts by numerous countries, the African Union, and the UN to mediate a ceasefire, at least 420 people have been killed and more than 3,700 have been injured in the conflict, according to the World Health Organization.”

This is not an aberration, but unfortunately the longtime reality of the country. From 1956 (when the country gained independence from Egypt and Britain), the country has had the highest number of attempted coups of any other African nation.

And while the SAF and the RSF worked together to overthrow dictator Omar al-Bashir 4 years ago, the power sharing agreement between the two groups (and the careful moves towards democracy) did not last.

There’s a lot to this issue, and this article does an excellent job of explaining what has happened, what’s happening right now, and what could come next.

I’m an unapologetic Housewives fan, and I have a soft spot for the new generation of “firsts” - the youngest Housewives to enter an established groups, Housewives of color who share their culture and history with the group.

It goes without saying that I’m PUMPED for the RHONY reboot. But until that day comes, I’ll rewatch some of my favorite ‘wives and seasons. Crystal Kung Minkoff joining RHOBH is one of my favorites, and I’ve learned so much from her (including how to make the tastiest and easiest margarita).

I loved this interview she did with Romper, talking about parenting, culture, food, and how all three intersect in her life:

“…it’s [food] what brings people together ... I think it’s the first step to understanding people, because it’s a universal language. Everybody needs to eat. On the show, I was like how are they gonna get to know me? So, I did a dumpling-making party my first season and it was like, this is who I am. I didn’t want to have a fancy party. I was like, we’re going to sit in my kitchen, you’re gonna put on aprons and make your own dumplings, you’re gonna fry them on my stove. [I wanted to] show them what it looks like on a regular Sunday afternoon at my house.”

No program or policy is perfect, and all can be improved in some way. But progress is better than perfect, and SNAP (a food assistance program that has been proven to reduce poverty and food insecurity) is one of those important programs.

And I wish the Republicans would focus on how to improve the program (beyond recommending work requirements - something they attach to most social programs they deem wasteful).

SNAP funding and who can access it is a significant part of the debt ceiling debate within the House, with Speaker McCarthy recommending the age limits for work requirements be raised.

Are there people who abuse or defraud programs like SNAP and TARP (qualifying and obtaining these benefits when they don’t need them)? Yes. Is it a significant problem? No - in Iowa, SNAP fraud amounted to just 0.001%.

Programs that are focused on the most vulnerable members of our community are not perfect, but their impact is immense (in addition to addressing food insecurity and poverty, a new study shows that SNAP has contributed to a decrease in the abuse of children).

I think a lot about what Representative Jayapal said about the Democrats being the party of freedom, family, and faith. SNAP is a pretty clear example of ‘loving thy neighbor.’

How do you feel about your hair?

I used to have a hate-hate relationship with mine - I resented having to get my roots touched up every 4 weeks, had difficulty styling it, and spent a lot of money getting blowouts every single week.

Going gray was the first step in my hair acceptance journey. I frankly love my color and how low maintenance it is. Embracing a changing hair texture has taken a bit longer, but I let my hair air dry with a couple of pumps of this serum and this styling cream, and touch it up with the most foolproof curling iron during the week.

Hair is a deeply emotional topic - it’s politicized, held to impossibly youthful standards, and bears a lot of expense (time and money). I really loved Marisa’s essay on her own hair acceptance journey, and realized that I’ve come a long way in my own.

And I’m really happy with where I’m at.

The maternal mortality rate in the United States is an entirely preventable tragedy. And the VA in Atlanta is approaching this issue with creativity, compassion, and to celebrate as many pregnant veterans as they can.

Part of the Atlanta VA’s prenatal healthcare program includes drive-through baby showers to give patients baby essentials and celebrate these parents. It’s a part of a larger program to ensure pregnant veterans are getting to their prenatal appointments, with a trained coordinator assigned to each veteran (many being women veterans themselves). This program also provides postpartum support for a year after the veterans give birth.

Not only am I grateful that such a program exists for those who have served our country, but I’m also heartened that the Protecting Moms Who Served Act (the law that provides funding for this program) has also commissioned a study to examine the maternal health crisis in veterans, whose physical and psychological injuries from service may lead to higher risk for worse maternal outcomes.

Reply

or to participate.