#5SmartReads - August 10, 2022

Hitha on better understanding two key acts, a state-of-the-pandemic, and the undisputed GOAT

In an effort to confront my bias and get a full picture on things, I seek out reporting across the political spectrum on a specific issue.

In this case, the Inflation Reduction Act that just passed the Senate.

I found this analysis to be really clear and fairly balanced. And while we can’t predict how Medicare negotiating prices will play out, I can firmly say that we need to try something different because what we have hasn’t been working for a really long time.

While I don’t necessarily agree with some of the predictions of Scott Gottlieb and Benedic Ippolito (fellows of the think-tank AEI) - reduce incentives for generic entry, making current rebating problems worse, hampering R&D - I do welcome their thoughts.

As someone who works in the generics/enhanced versions of existing drugs space in biopharma, I’d like to offer some of my own predictions:

  • I think this bill will actually strengthen the quality of generics and that products filed under the 505(b)(2) pathway (where the formulation/delivery of an existing product is changed). I also think it’s an opportunity to reinvest in domestic manufacturing of the commonly used drugs in this country, if prices remain stabilized.

  • We’ve always had issues with rebating, and I think this is an opportunity for bipartisan action for some common-sense reform. A lot of drug manufacturers have excellent rebate programs with terrible messaging - is there a way HHS can streamline this or structure a public-private partnership to help automate it for those insured under Medicaid and Medicare?

  • I’ve heard this story (of R&D suffering with price negotiations with manufacturers) before and frankly most of the largest manufacturers who will be the most affected by this are launching their latest products through acquisition, not internal R&D. I think you’ll see a cooling in the valuations of these companies that are more in-line with reality, and likely more licensing deals instead of M&A.

Thank you for coming to my TED Talk. And definitely give this article a read.

The Presidential Records Act was passed in 1978. It has never been violated nor a person convicted under this law - though that may change.

There’s a lot we still don’t know about the FBI executing a search warrant at Mar-A-Lago on Monday, but I’ve seen sections of the Presidential Records Act being shared widely about someone convicted of this offense being disqualified from holding future office.

It’s tempting to quickly share something that, on first read, we feel aligned with. But I do encourage you to take the time to read this primer on the Act, how the FBI obtained the search warrant, and how it was executed at MAL.

If you haven’t heard the names Kimberly Seals Allers, Rebecca Parekh, and Dr. Robin Berzin before, it’s my pleasure to introduce you to them.

The Well (which Rebecca co-founded and is the CEO of) is one of my favorite places in the world - I love their movement classes, their services, and to catch up with friends over a reflexology session and a delicious meal.

Parsley Health was the only wellness center that took my perimenopause symptoms seriously and helped me establish better lifestyle habits and some supplements to help manage them without a hormone replacement therapy script. And I so badly wish I had Irth during my pregnancies and deliveries.

I admire all of these women and what they’re building, and I’m here to support and champion others who are looking to enter this space and help make true healthcare more equitable and accessible for all.

That even COVID reporting has hit an all-time low shows how done the powers at be are with this pandemic. Unfortunately for us, the pandemic is not finished with us.

I’ll leave it to these physicians to share the state of the pandemic as it is (not as it’s being reported by the major media companies and our leaders in both parties), and what we can actually do to mitigate the spread and keep our communities safe - especially our most vulnerable friends and family.

“It is more than two years since long COVID was first described, and we still have a ways to go to improve the three Rs: recognition, research, and rehabilitation (including developing specific treatments). And long COVID is not just a medical issue—patients also need social support, sick pay, and access to disability benefits.”

Rarely do I share an already-popular piece here on #5SmartReads, but I was so moved by Serena’s words and I had to share the passage that I keep coming back to, over and over again:

“Believe me, I never wanted to have to choose between tennis and a family. I don’t think it’s fair. If I were a guy, I wouldn’t be writing this because I’d be out there playing and winning while my wife was doing the physical labor of expanding our family. Maybe I’d be more of a Tom Brady if I had that opportunity. Don’t get me wrong: I love being a woman, and I loved every second of being pregnant with Olympia. I was one of those annoying women who adored being pregnant and was working until the day I had to report to the hospital—although things got super complicated on the other side. And I almost did do the impossible: A lot of people don’t realize that I was two months pregnant when I won the Australian Open in 2017. But I’m turning 41 this month, and something’s got to give.”

This so beautifully describes the ecstasy and the agony of wanting to be a present parent and to make an impact in your work and the trade-off is one that’s rarely talked about.

Serena has been a hero of mine since I was a kid, with my admiration of her only growing. She’s cemented her legacy as one of the greatest athletes of all time - but for so many parents and especially mothers, she’s given us a voice that has been heard widely and loudly.

Thank you, Serena. Here’s to always evolving.

Reply

or to participate.