#5SmartReads - August 5, 2022

Abigail on ironic designer bags, connecting over the internet, and millennials turning 40

Abigail is the founder of Brooklyn based media company This Needs Hot Sauce, which includes a newsletter, cooking classes, and lots more! She's passionate about appreciating little moments like a walk with iced coffee and a podcast, food justice, and trying new things even when you're scared. Get more reads, recipes, and recs in her newsletter.

The Rise Of The Ironic Bag And Tote (Harpers Bazaar) I've seen these ironic LL Bean totes all over TikTok and I'm intrigued and conflicted. On one hand, it's a way more accessible trend than most designer bags and they are very funny and well made. On the other hand, don't we all have too many tote bags? I feel like they sometimes appear out of nowhere. I'm still debating ordering one, but I probably won't for the same reason I don't have a tattoo— I can't think of a phrase I'd want to carry forever.

Do you want to chat with your favorite food brands? Lots of people do! With all the changes to Instagram, brands are looking for other places to connect with their customers, to share product details, get feedback and build community. How cool would it be to share a dish you made with the founder and get a response?

I related to this as an entrepreneur so much. I love Instagram but I always prioritize my newsletter because it's a space I own where we can connect without an algorithm.

What Even IS A Stomach? (Behind The Book)

Content warning for discussion on food, disordered eating, and trauma.

I'm lactose intolerant and I've known it for a long time. As the years go by, more and more friends ask to try a lactaid pill when we enjoy pizza or a scoop of ice cream. Ijeoma's piece about forgetting and remembering her lactose intolerance is a powerful story of how we can, through trauma and the burdens of capitalism, become so disconnected from our bodies that we miss what they're trying to tell us.

I have TMJ and often ignore the headaches I get from it to keep working instead of listening to their cue to slow down. It's a work in progress.

I'm not a mom but I loved this piece from Janelle on Cup of Jo about her identity crisis as a new mom. It's natural to occupy many identities throughout a lifetime but it can be hard to feel like yourself through big changes in your work, family, or personal life. This is my first summer as a full time entrepreneur and it's been a journey, to say the least.

It's officially my birthday month and I loved this piece, part of a great package on millennials turning 40. As a younger millennial (I'm almost 29) it has been so inspiring to see women slightly older than me thrive and innovate and have fun as they take different paths through their 30s. I can only imagine what's in store and that's exciting.

Reply

or to participate.