#5SmartReads - August 7, 2020

On the USPS, the new mayor of Dublin, and Daisy Coleman

The likely outcome of this is that the NRA will move its charter to Texas. So let’s be full aware of that.

But this is a really bold lawsuit alleging widespread fraud, and charges the organization and four top executives.

The case is purely financial, and has nothing to do with the 2nd Amendment or gun rights.

I’m not a lawyer, but the case (linked in the article) is a well-reasoned and laid out one.

Can someone please write and produce the biopic of Hazel Chu, the ninth woman to be Lord Mayor of Dublin and the first woman of color?

I really appreciate her honesty in this interview. I especially empathized with her remarks on the racism her family and she’s faced in Ireland (and how it’s evolved), and her views on what’s happening between Hong Kong and China and the differing generational views.

NPR did a really nice job of explaining immunology and the importance of adjuvants, dendritic cells, and how they’re being evaluated in COVID vaccine candidates.

I hope we invest more funds and resources in developing adjuvants for future vaccines. It’s a younger research area that’s been one of the biggest advancements in vaccine development.

And maybe - just maybe - it’ll help us be more proactive instead of reactive with vaccine development.

I’m surprised at how well my podcast episode on COVID has held up, months later. Give it a listen if you haven’t yet.

I met Daisy 3 years ago. After enduring assault and the subsequent legal case and fallout from her community, she had the incredible bravery to show her story in this documentary and the press tour after.

But sometimes the pain and hurt is too much.

Rest in peace, Daisy. Thank you for your bravery and sharing your story and taking action, when all the cards were stacked against you.

I’ve spent more time reading about the USPS this week than I have in my entire life. And the more I read, the more I’m fascinated by it.

All while being one of the largest employers in the United States.

The USPS is worth saving. The question is…how?

Reply

or to participate.