#5SmartReads - December 8, 2022

Hitha on the sexism of AI, chips, and the woman behind your favorite MCU superheroes

While it feels like all the news is terrible, here’s a glimmer of hope that will transform our country - and the world - in the coming decades.

In President Biden’s own words, “it grows the economy. Helps everybody. Hurts nobody!”

And Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Co’s design to TRIPLE its investment in Arizona - which will create over 10,000 jobs - is a big freaking deal. And this investment was made partly due to the bipartisan Chips and Science Act, passed earlier this year.

That’s not to say that this will be easy or provide an immediate return on investment - building up this level of high-tech manufacturing from the ground up will be expensive and take some time. But if we stay focused on rebuilding the manufacturing sector in this country, it will pay dividends for decades and even generations to come, especially if they leverage apprenticeship programs and do not require a college degree.

“In my community, it’s not uncommon to have generations living under one roof. While this way of living alleviates financial pressure from family members, that’s only one benefit of intergenerational households. In many households, dancing and regalia are passed down between siblings and cousins. The youngest generation eagerly watches family members perform and practices alongside them, both in the arena and in living rooms while family elders guide everyone.”

For us, part-time intergenerational living has been the greatest gift. Beyond the childcare and home management support (which is immense and greatly valued), I treasure the time we spend together at the dinner table, the conversations we have on the couch, and that every person has their own unique relationship with each other. Much of what Angelina writes of her experience is nearly identical to my mom’s stories of growing up in a massive family living together in a multigenerational home (true story, the home my mom was born in was later turned into a warehouse).

A fair division of labor and responsibilities and quality time with your loved ones is all any of us are looking for - and I think between an integrated, intergenerational community and the nuclear family is a happy medium that can make all our lives better.

I loved this story and learning about life in Angelina’s Northern Cheyenne Community is inspiring and important to recognize as traditionally American.

For as much as I loved some of my images from Lensa AI, I also took issue with the subtle airbrushing of my non-sample size or traditional features. It’s taken me a long time to appreciate my brown skin, my prominent nose, the belly that grew my two sons, and the arms that still comfort them and do all the things that I do.

I’m not the only one who noticed this. The texts and messages between my girlfriends and I have been “oh, how I’d look after lipo and fillers” or “me after plastic surgery.”

How did this happen? Well, it’s because of who programmed the AI

“Ultimately the answer is that AI is built by humans… the reality is, as of now, a majority of these AI developers are white men who play a lot of Settlers of Katan and live in fantasy sci-fi worlds. You can say I am generalizing, but IT IS A FACT so do with it as you will.”

Rachel’s words on this topic are worth your time and your shares. Highly recommend reading this and exercising caution before jumping on the next social trend - I know I will be revisiting this essay when I’m tempted to try the new new.

Holding Out for a Hero (Marie Claire)

If I could shadow at any company besides Taco Bell, it would be Marvel Studios.

I’m blown away by Phase IV so far and can’t wait for all the movies and shows slated for 2023. If there’s Marvel films on a flight’s in-seat entertainment, that’s what I’m watching. And I’m fascinated by the entire production process of a super hero film.

At Marvel Studios, a production doesn’t start without Sarah Finn’s direct involvement. The casting director has been involved with every film and show the studio has released (with the exception of 20098’s The Incredible Hulk - and she replaced Norton’s Hulk with Mark Ruffalo).

“There are kids who are the age now where they’ve grown up on the entire canon of the MCU,” says Finn. “When I look at it as, ‘Here’s an individual whose life has been shaped by these movies,’ then I feel emotional about that.” Her husband is a public school teacher, and his students sometimes come up to him after class, having put Finn-and-Finn together, to ask in awe: Your wife, she cast ALL of the…? 

“Growing up, [the MCU] was literally the only thing I cared about,” says Vellani. “And that all comes down to characters… Sarah’s judge of character is why these castings are so spot-on, and why fans like me continue to praise the MCU for what it is.”

Sarah - are you looking for a 38 year old intern?

When there’s legal news breaking, I look to my friend Lisa to help make sense of it all. And lucky for us, she’s usually published a piece by the time I get around to asking her.

Case in point - Moore v. Harper, which could potentially change our elections as we know it with the independent state legislature doctrine.

No commentary or quotes I pull from this piece will do it justice, so I just encourage you to pour a glass of water or your favorite beverage and curl up with whatever device you’re reading this on and dive in. Lisa does a masterful job of explaining the issue, first with historical context and the present day matters, what to look for in the hearings, and the future impact of the judgement.

Very, very worthy your time.

Reply

or to participate.