#5SmartReads - February 13, 2023

Shibani on dinosaur tracks, growing apart from nature, and the mocking of vegetarian Biryani

After a year hiatus, Shibani brought back her blog this year where she shares book reviews, favorite purchases and more. A transplant from Mumbai, she has lived in Cleveland for nearly 20 years!

Climate change has caused droughts all over the world, and while these droughts are causing crop failures and issues with water supply, they're also uncovering some very interesting things including sunken ships, statues, and perhaps the most interesting - dinosaur tracks!!

For my fortieth birthday in 2020, I had an in-depth astrology reading. Toward the end of my session, I asked my astrologer if there was anything I should be doing to make myself happier and to be more aligned with my chart. He recommended that I spend at least 10 minutes each day in nature.

His recommendation resulted in me creating a cut flower garden that I enjoy each year. Science suggests that our relationship with nature is in decline – I urge you to take a few minutes each day to appreciate nature around you.

Whether it’s flowers, birdsong, appreciating a tree on your walk – the little interactions all count, and they may even make you happier.

Who Is She? (Gloria)

If you're in your 40s and find yourself looking in the mirror and thinking "well this is new", you're not alone.

While your 40s are fabulous for so many reasons, you're also going to have to come to terms with the fact that you are aging. Here's what aging does to your face.

Of the 4 dogs we’ve had, our first was from a breeder, and the subsequent 3 were all rescues.

I have no intent of shaming anyone that buys puppies from a breeder - I totally get it. However, please do not buy a dog from a pet store unless it’s a rescue pop up. If you can rescue an animal, please do. There are so many animals in need.

As always, I like to end these with something fun.

What's your go-to order at an Indian restaurant? Tikka masala? Saag paneer? There's nothing wrong with any of these dishes, but if you haven't tried biryani yet, you are MISSING OUT.

If you are in the know, you may also know that vegetarian biryani is the butt of many jokes, but it has a very interesting history and is worthy of your appreciation!

Reply

or to participate.