#5SmartReads - February 27, 2023

Olivia on New Yorker's pronunciation, captivating GRWM videos, and budgeting in your 20s and 30s

Olivia Dreizen Howell is the co-founder and CEO of Fresh Starts Registry, the first and only platform for everything you need to begin again, including divorce or breakup, moving, career changes, stepping into your truth, or starting again after grief. She's a single mom of two amazing boys on Long Island (born and bred!), and in her spare time, she loves to watercolor, make handmade cards, read about generational trauma, listen to 90s music, and collect crystals I know nothing about, but love the way they feel.

The other day my kids were drawing and asked for a crayon, but kept saying "cran." It took me a moment to ask what they were asking for and realized they were saying "crayon," not like how I say it (New Yorker), but more like their father says it (North Carolinian).

Even though my kids were born and raised here in NY, their pronunciation was not! So, I did a little digging and found out that there are a handful of words ONLY New Yorkers pronounce differently! And don't even get me started on how people across the nation say "crayon," that's a whole different story!

This Thrillist piece outlines the interesting ways New Yorkers speak and say words - and why! I love linguistics and found this fascinating!

Moving can be so overwhelming - especially if you're moving with kids or a partner, there's just so many components to consider.

I loved this article by Candace Nelson on how you can take care of your health during a move. She talked to 3 different Fresh Starts Experts about how you can manage your mental and physical health during a major move.

We believe that a move is a Fresh Start, and there are so many experts who can support you in your move, including a therapist, your realtor (obvi, but not for the reasons you may realize), and even a movement coach to help your body as you're lugging boxes!

When I came across this Sunday Riley article by Lindsay Tigar, it really made me stop and think: why DO we love watching people get ready? Why is it so captivating?

I'm not even a makeup girlie, and I'll stop and watch people on TikTok do their makeup - there's something soothing and meditating about it! I especially love the Get Ready With Me (GRWM) videos on TikTok!

We chatted with a popular TikTok GRWM star, Laurel, on my podcast, and she said that people just love to come watch her get ready because it's like hanging with a friend. It's interesting to think about the power of social media and how it connects us, even in the mundane moments of life!

Is anyone else still in decluttering mode from early January? I feel like I was on a tear orgazinging everything and burnt myself out! However, I came across this piece by Amanda Lauren and it inspired me to go back and declutter and organize again!

Fresh Starts Expert Shantae Duckworth is quoted in this piece and talks you through the places in your home you can quickly organize - and once you start organizing, it's hard to stop! What have you organized lately?

I'll be honest, when I was in my 20s, and even my early 30s, I was not thinking about budgeting or saving money, and it's so, so important for women to know how to do this!

I loved this piece from Lindsay Tigar, featuring Fresh Starts Expert Diana Yáñez's super helpful tips on what it means to budget, and how you can start budgeting at any time in your 20s and 30s. What tips do you have for budgeting in your 20s and 30s that you can impart to women? I'd love to hear them!

Reply

or to participate.