#5SmartReads - January 17, 2023

LaToya on why you should hang with friends, becoming a NYT best seller, and who's promoting "pro-choice" on Instagram

Lale Cox is the owner of Lamoureux Fragrance Atelier, a small boutique fragrance company. She hand makes each candle and room spray in small batches with a focus on luxurious scents, non toxic ingredients and sustainability with reusable vessels. After selling out of her holiday collections, she's preparing to launch a Valentine's Day scent line that expands into Body Care, with a Body Scrub and Bath Soak.

It's January so everyone I know is focused on being healthier.

There are new Peleton commercials, resolutions discussions about eating right, even I have joined a meal planning group (called Meal Planning Mami's) so I can eat at home for the entire month, but I have never heard of anyone saying "I plan to be healthier to by hanging out with friends" But we should!

“"Friends are as essential for a healthy life as eating right or getting a good night's sleep."

After reading this, committing to friend dates at least 1x a month is now on my intentions list.”

Something else on my intentions list? Reading at least 6 nonfiction books this year, because I am a romance junkie and rarely veer off of what I love.

To find my latest book I absolutely perused the NYT bestsellers list, and I came across this article about how the list is made. A good reminder to just ask people who I love & respect what they are reading and for recommendations!

Broken Borough (Spotlight PA)

Another goal this year? Investing in journalism.

I donated to this college paper after reading this amazing article about a cop who killed a little boy who was hired in a small town years later and its effect on the community.

Excellent reporting and a great reminder to email your congressperson to support the George Floyd Justice in Policing Act which mandates utilizing the National Decertification Index (NDI), which lists officers who have been removed from duty.

There has been a lack of recent content and outrage for Roe being overturned, and I'm worried we are all starting to just live with it. This article floated down my twitter feed and it was a good reminder that sometimes the loudest voices in a fight are the least expected.

Hitha has spoken at length about how her Dry January goals turned into a non-alcoholic lifestyle.

I admired it so much I tried it, but around day 5 I was sipping a glass of wine after a particularly hard day. That's when I realized I didn't really set myself up with a plan that will ensure I have something for when those hard days hit.

This article is about how to get through Dry January, but the tips like create a support group and tracking your progress, can be used to support you through any big change!

Reply

or to participate.