#5SmartReads - January 19, 2023

Abigail on being stronger after GI issues, plus-size friendly outfit inspo, and gentle January

Abigail is copywriter and journalist based in Brooklyn. She recently co wrote an ebook, Meal Prep Made Simple. A native New Yorker, Abigail founded This Needs Hot Sauce in 2017. When she's not writing, she enjoys reading, finding the best oyster happy hours, and taking a long walk with a good podcast.

So many of us have stomach and GI issues and I'm so glad to see Tyler James Williams speak openly about his struggles with Crohn's disease (he didn't know he had it until he had to have surgery) and being a child star.

Abbott Elementary is a highlight of my week and Tyler and the cast deserve every accolade they get (make sure to watch their Golden Globes speeches if you haven't). Abbott just got renewed for a season three and I can't wait.

I love to keep things for a long time (I'm writing this from a 2015 MacBook that has been through a lot) but that's getting harder and harder to do.

Planned obsolescence is so frustrating as a consumer—my parents have appliances that have lasted decades and my high end blender had to be repaired after only two years. It's harder than ever to find high quality products and capitalism, fast fashion, and a lack of regulation are all to blame.

Time to look for more old Gap sweaters at the thrift store, those were made to last!

Have you seen the TikToks that say "Is it a look or is she just skinny?"

Fatphobia is everywhere and it's very loud in the fashion space. I loved this story where Teen Vogue's Aiyana Ishmael dressed like Bella Hadid for a week as a plus sized woman. She looks great and Bella even responded on social media. More of this content, please (and more size inclusivity in fashion).

Georgia (the country, not the state) has been on my travel bucket list for a longtime.

The wine, the food, and the history are major draws. I loved this article about visiting a part of Georgia, the Pankisi Valley, where tourists don't typically go. The region has a complicated history and the headlines normally focus on terrorism. The writer found hospitality and a desire to share culture and stories. On my one day trip to the country, I'd love to visit.

Gentle January Is Back (This Needs Hot Sauce)

I'm sorry to link myself but I need to spread the word about Gentle January, which is majorly improving my mood.

Gentle January is about being gentle with yourself in this cold season. Lean into softness, good books and food and little rituals that life your spirits. I first heard about this concept from Karlee Flores on Joy The Baker and I want it to be my forever January tradition.

Reply

or to participate.