#5SmartReads - January 24, 2023

Shibani on being midlife, hot flashes, and paint color based on zodiac signs

After a year long hiatus, Shibani recently brought back her blog where she shares her book reviews, her favorite buys, and things she generally loves. You can find her at Bombay Taxi Boutique!

I turned 40 during the pandemic, and I was really excited to reach that milestone. I’m now 42, and the only major difference between my mid-30s and now is the amount of confidence I have in my career.

Lately, I’ve found myself rattled by stories of acquaintances and even strangers dying unexpectedly in their 40s. Rationally, I know I’m not at risk for that happening, but it serves as a reminder that I shouldn’t wait to do the things I want to do. And you shouldn’t either.

If, like me, your 2023 resolutions include drinking more water, science says you may be setting yourself up for healthier aging and “prolong a disease free life.”

According to the Cleveland Clinic, water is essential for multiple functions in your body, including digestion, creating hormones and neurotransmitters, and delivering oxygen.

Stay hydrated friends!

Last year I was convinced I was perimenopausal because I would wake up from dead sleep so hot that I couldn’t fall back asleep.

Turns out I was not perimenopausal and it was just our dogs (who sleep in bed) making me too hot, but it had me start thinking about my plan for when that stage of life eventually happens.

I’m fascinated by the cultural history of food, and this story about Mahua is completely new to me!

Colonialism impacted absolutely everything in India (down to our DNA) so I’m glad that traditions like this survived and are now getting a second life. I’m going to try and find some Mahua on my next visit to India!

I like to end these with something fun, and today’s share involves one of my favorite things - astrology- with paint.

My colors - bright pink, red and gold are dead on! Nick’s (my husband) black is dead on too 😆

I don’t know - I think they’re really onto something here.

Reply

or to participate.