#5SmartReads - June 16, 2022

Olivia on waiting for the housing market to cool down, making houses into homes, and who the trans Barbie Doll is inspired by

Today we have a new contributor for #5SmartReads! Please welcome Olivia! She is the co-founder of Fresh Starts Registry, the first ever registry for anyone navigating life changes. Her background is in social media marketing, and she is the founder of March Lion Media, where they have managed social media for all sorts of companies and people for a decade. Olivia is a single mom of two amazing boys on Long Island (born and bred!), and in her spare time, she works on writing a novel, loves to read about sociology and families, and collects crystals.

I recently sold my house and moved back in with my parents! The housing market is hot for sellers, and not so much for buyers, and I chatted with Money Magazine about my decision to sell and move back home. I feel super grateful I'm able to do this and wait out the chaotic real estate market right now, and apparently, I'm not alone in this thought process.

Now that I'm back living in my childhood bedroom, I wanted to change it up to have more an apartment vibe (I'm going for single mom in the 1970s with plants and crystals, ha!), so I love this Shondaland article on all of the different home philosophies to make your place feel like YOU. This article inspired me to fill my room with things that bring me joy and lots of color.

I'm a sociology geek, and love the history of toys - which is why I was so thrilled to see this story in Glamour about the first trans Barbie doll inspired by Laverne Cox! Representation is so, so important through children's play, and I just know this is a huge step in the right direction.

I saw this on social media and had to do some research - it's a real thing! Bananas used to be super rare in South Korea because they don't grow there, and when they started to be shipped in from the Philippines, this grocer brilliantly packaged them according to ripeness so people could enjoy one a day.

Have you seen Somebody Feel Phil? It's my go-to comfort show before bed! Phil Rosenthal is a sitcom writer turned foodie on Somebody Feel Phil, and it's the most heart-warming food + travel show. I love how he highlights locals and especially local artists and businesses. But, I warn you - this show will make you hungry!

Reply

or to participate.