#5SmartReads - June 8, 2023

Shibani on what Florida is doing to education, productivity shame, and dog dreams

Shibani grew up in Mumbai, India and has lived in Cleveland, Ohio for the past 20 years. When she's not at her day job in finance, she spends her time reading, gardening, walking her dogs, on her Peloton, and attending concerts. You can find all her book reviews in her Instagram highlights or on Goodreads.

I cannot stress enough how important it is to vote in EVERY SINGLE ELECTION.

What’s happening in Florida sets a dangerous precedent for the rest of the country, particularly red states. Support candidates that match your values at all levels by encouraging your friends and family to vote for them. It may seem like nothing but I can tell you for a fact that talking about voting with friends has made some them more conscientious about showing up. And they tell their friends and so on.

Your efforts matter.

I’ve had my fair share of friendships fall away for one reason or the other, and there has definitely been a grief process for the ones I really cared about. Sometimes you can’t control these things, and sometimes it isn’t about you as much as it the other person drawing boundaries that may not include you.

It doesn’t mean they hurt less, but sometimes I think you just have to let people go. Maybe they will find their way back to you and maybe they won’t, but there is a beauty in cherishing the memories you made together.

I’m sure I’m not alone in saying that I can measure my self worth by my productivity. Is that messed up? Absolutely yes.

Can I stop doing it? Absolutely no.

Unofficial summer has begun, which means lots of time in the sun! While I fully support the dose of Vitamin D, it is very important that you use sunscreen to prevent skin cancer and also, frankly, vanity.

I always like to end these with something fun, and this falls in “it makes my heart burst” category - dogs dream about their humans!!!

Reply

or to participate.