#5SmartReads - March 15, 2023

LaToya on quitting Instagram, why being a Black newborn is scary, and the end of the dream job

Lale is a multi-hyphenate who answers the question "what do you do?" with “doing my best!” She balances being a wife, mother, small business owner Lamoureux Fragrance with her career of being a Project Manager and trying to just be present in each moment.

I like many people I know, I have taken a step back from IG.

It's "easy" for me because only about 20% of my business's sales come from here and I mostly use IG to say hey to friends. However, influencers with mega followings are also taking steps back, more and more everyday.

This article is older but still very relevant, especially with the recent charging for verification news that Meta announced.

I want another child. But the idea of having another baby, in my 40s in as a Black woman in America is terrifying.

There are no easy answers, but a start is knowing exactly what the problem is.

The women who coined imposter syndrome had no idea they would speaking to exactly what so many woman feel around the world. Hearing the story of how they created it and how they dealt with their own is a fascinating read.

As an aside, personally am trying to embody Mindy Kaling's approach "I don't feel impostor syndrome and the reason I don't is that I work so hard." I show up prepared and work hard, so I actually feel qualified vs faking it.

There is a tricky balance of what to share online when you're going through something. For the most part, I keep my "tough times" offline, and can feel fraudulent when posting funny memes and such. This profile on Jo from Cup of Jo, speaking about how she's handling a very online divorce was so moving and gave me comfort in choosing how much to share and how to share it.

I am planning my return to the workforce and this article is a guiding light to remembering what the pandemic taught me personally. 

There is no such thing as a dream job, what is a dream is feeling fulfilled, and satisfied by experiences with my family. The right job will allow me to do that. 

Reply

or to participate.