#5SmartReads - May 25, 2023

Shibani on imposter syndrome, what productivity means, and gardening

A native of Mumbai, India, and regular contributor to #5SmartReads, Shibani plans to spend her summer powering through her TBR pile, clipping flowers from her backyard garden in Cleveland, and attending concerts! You can find her book reviews in her Instagram highlights!

I’ve been on my fair share of panels and I absolutely LOATHE questions about imposter syndrome.

For one, it assumes all women have it. Second, it often makes women thing it’s something they should have.

The reality is that if you are a woman in leadership, statistically speaking, you have had to be exceptional to achieve that position. So let’s stop thinking that we don’t belong, and let’s unequivocally accept that women belong in leadership.

Like a lot of people, the push to return to work started for me in the middle of 2022. It started with one day a week and has predictably now gotten to 2-3 days a week.

Ironically I intentionally plan my week so that my in- office days are the lightest days. Because if we’re measuring productivity as sheer output, it always takes me longer to do the same thing in office than at home, simply because there are more distractions in an open-office environment. And that doesn’t even count conversations with people that would just be a quick email or Teams message if I were at home.

But if we’re measuring productivity as relationship building, then it’s a vastly different outcome. I think my personal sweet spot is 1-2 days in the office.

Heal Thyself (Vanity Fair)

As you know, I’m Indian, so culturally I have a healthy respect for non-Western medicine like Ayurveda and Homeopathy.

I’ve used both with success in the past, but usually alongside Western medicine. Please be careful who you’re taking health advice from, especially online.

I garden because I love flowers and I love the idea of having a steady supply of bouquets all summer long. I never really considered the exercise aspect of it, but after a weekend of gardening while wearing my AppleWatch and seeing the metrics, it really IS a workout!!

I always like to wrap these up with something fun.

I was absolutely CHARMED by Welcome To Wrexham when I watched it on Hulu last year, and ever since, I've been loosely following the team. And besides football (soccer), it's been amazing to follow along and see the impact the show (and the team) have had on the city of Wrexham and its residents.

If you want a real feel-good story, welcome to Wrexham (PS definitely watch the show, there's another season coming this year)

Reply

or to participate.