#5SmartReads - May 26, 2023

Olivia on difficult conversations with a nanny, mom discrimination, and an innovative dance company

Olivia Howell is the co-founder and CEO of Fresh Starts Registry, the first and only platform for everything you need to begin again, including divorce or breakup, moving, career changes, stepping into your truth, or starting again after grief. After her own divorce in 2019, Olivia had an 'aha moment' when she realized that we celebrate weddings and babies with a registry, but in the moments we really need to restock our life, like divorce, job loss, or any brave decision and major life change, we need the support, both in the form of support items for your home and the experts who become our hype team. From there, Fresh Starts Registry was born, the first Support Registry and Divorce Registry - and the only platform which aggregates support experts for all life changes and supports the Fresh Starts Experts in their marketing, business, and public relations. Olivia is also the co-host of the top rated podcast, A Fresh Story, and the co-author of Simple Scripts to Support Your People: What to Say When You Don't Know What to Say.

One of the hardest conversations I've had in my life was when we had to let a babysitter go - she wasn't working out for us, and I truly didn't have the words to express that, though we were grateful for her time, we'd be moving on.

We read all of the baby books when we become parents, but it's those tricky conversations that no one prepares us for! I really appreciated this article by Ashley Austrew, which walks us through how to have tough conversations with your nanny.

There is no one more important in our lives as parents than the people who help us raise our family, and as Fresh Starts Expert Stephanie Rosenfield says in this piece, “Many of us were raised thinking conflict is a bad thing,” but when it comes to communication with our childcare providers, sometimes the conflict isn't negative, it's just a breakdown of communication.

This piece lays out some practical strategies for handling those tough convos with your nanny or babysitter and I think it will bring some solace to people.

I have weird kids. I'm proud of this fact! I was also a weird kid (I've always been an inventor and used to try to create machines from cereal boxes, I wore a queen costume regularly...I guess that tracks).

So, when I came across this piece by mom of 4 Meg St-Esprit, I absolutely fell in love with what she was saying - so many of us were weird kids growing up, but had parents who wanted us to fit a mold or fit within social constructs, and having gone through that experience, we are excited to raise the weird kids and not only raise them, but encourage them to be weird!

As Meg writes, "Much of my own childhood was spent trying to hide what I viewed as 'weird' interests." I love going down the rabbit hole with my boys - we could spend hours researching The Haunted Mansion or niche Lego videos - and it fills my heart with joy to see how excited they are to share these moments with me. Were you a "weird kid"? What interests do you pursue?

When I was interviewing for my very first job as a teacher, the headmaster of the school asked me point blank if I was thinking of starting a family. At the time, I was 22, I had no boyfriend, no long term plans, and I didn't even know what to say. "I mean, someday, I hope," I responded. And, low and behold, nearly 10 years into the job, it ultimately was the choice between being the mother I wanted to be and my teaching career that made me leave my job.

I needed certain small requirements in my contract, and the school wouldn't budge, so I had to leave a job I loved. I really appreciated the title of this piece about working mothers - the discrimination IS an open secret - and mothers are often seen as weak links in the business.

As the piece says, "Moms are still often laid off while on parental leave, pushed out of workplaces and subjected to stereotypes about their competency. But with few legal protections, attorneys say most cases go unreported."

This is part of such a larger conversation about women, finances, generational wealth, and even divorce - how can a woman choose herself and her children if she doesn't have a job or the finances? But, how can women have the family they desire if they know it may end their career? What are women to do?

Anytime I see an article about a family business, I always love to dig deep; as someone who owns multiple businesses with my sister, this NPR piece about the creation and success of Ragamala Bharatanatyam, an Indian dance company founded by mother-daughter duo Ranee and Aparna Ramaswamy was particularly interesting.

The company, based in Minneapolis, has gained acclaim for its innovative and contemporary take on Bharatanatyam, a classical Indian dance form. The Ramaswamys have incorporated their personal experiences as Indian-American women into their choreography, exploring themes of identity, cultural heritage, and spirituality.

I was fascinated by learning about the challenges they faced in the predominantly white American dance world, and their response to the challenges through both dance and business. If you're interested in creative entrepreneurs, and women owned businesses forging their way in the world, you'll enjoy this article.

Would you ever work with a family member? Have you ever worked with a family member?

I know this Real Simple piece seem basic, but it had me thinking about so many different aspects of our culture, on so many levels.

It's no secret that everyone's grocery bills seem to skyrocketing, and with families to feed, our budgets may feel super strapped. I appreciated how this piece lays out which fruits and vegetables are the best investment for your family.

My kids love apples, which according to this piece, can stay crisp for MONTHS! So often we think that buying healthier food can be expensive, or maybe the food won't last long, but this piece was really eye-opening and had a vast list of fruits and vegetables which are more sustainable for any household. Did you know that in a cold pantry, potatoes can be stored for months? It's also a handy list to have for when items go on sale and you can stock up - and yes, you can stock up on fresh food!

What's your favorite fruit and vegetable from this list?

Reply

or to participate.