#5SmartReads - May 5, 2022

Hitha on the wider impact of abortion bans, the real meaning of Cinco de Mayo, and coral reefs

This is both unsurprising and also heartbreaking.

“On the surface, we thought it was COVID and Trump. Deeper down we know it's related to the model minority myth and perpetual foreigner stereotypes. But even deeper, it really [shows] the embedded systemic racism in this country against Asian Americans."

I think a lot about something my friend Sany said on a panel we did together. “[White] Americans love our food, but they don’t love the people who made it.”

The numbers corroborate this feeling. Anti-Asian hate crimes have skyrocketed in line with the jump in Americans who believe Asian-Americans are partly responsible for COVID-19 and are more loyal to their country of origin than to the United States.

We, too, sing America. We love this country. We just want to be able to live safely and with trust here.

First of all, if you haven’t read The Princess Diarist, you must. Especially if you’re a Star Wars/Carrie Fisher fan or someone who loves witty, irreverent, smart people.

And while you wait for the book to download or arrive, read this old interview with Fisher herself (better yet, listen to all 33 minutes of it). She opens up about all the things - Star Wars, her parents, the infamous gold bikini - and it’s a joy to revisit.

I had an abortion.

It was to clear the products of conception after my miscarriage, for a baby I very much wanted. On my bill (because my insurance didn’t fully cover the procedure), “abortion” was one of the line items.

The technical term for this procedure is a D&C, but the procedure is the same no matter the reasons.

I’m ardently pro-choice, and becoming a mother and having this procedure has made me more so. My beliefs and opinions have no basis in policy, and I fear how this procedure will become more limited for the people who need it - no matter their reason.

When I think back on my own experience, I take for granted how quickly I was able to schedule my abortion, that I went in and out with no immediate issues, and was able to seek care for a post-procedure hemorrhage without fear that it would be reported as seeking abortion and thus a crime.

If you think Cinco de Mayo is Mexico’s Independent Day, you’d join the majority of Americans in being incorrect.

This day commemorates Mexico’s victory over the French Army in the Battle of Puebla in 1862, having defeated the Spaniards in 1821 and losing the Mexican-American War in 1848. France’s defeat in this battle had an impact on the American Civil War, as the Confederacy wasn’t able to enlist the French army as an ally to battle Union forces.

It’s fine and well to enjoy a margarita today, or to visit your local Mexican restaurant for a festive meal. But please take the time to read up on this significant day and know why you’re raising a glass to our southern neighbors.

Some of the best solutions we have to fight climate change are ones that already exist.

Like coral reefs.

I’m heartened to see more federal dollars - from the defense, transportation, and infrastructure budgets - are beginning to make their way into coral reef preservation and regrowth projects. But it pales in comparison to the overall budgets to limit coastal flooding and other climate threats.

I hope we see more investments like these, as they preserve a vulnerable ecosystem and help us mitigate the worsening storms we’ve been experiencing.

Reply

or to participate.