#5SmartReads - November 15, 2022

Hitha on safer supply programs, Sunday mornings, and the latest sentencing in Iran

The hardline, cold turkey approach that drives our addiction programs and policies in this country should be revisited, especially as we see other methods that work.

Just take a look at what a Toronto health center is doing with a safer supply program.

It’s not to say that programs focused on treatment and rehabilitation from addiction aren’t important - they very much are. But many people suffering from addiction aren’t ready to jump straight into treatment, and a safer supply program could help successfully prepare them for that phase.

In any case, these programs require a robust public health infrastructure and investment to succeed, and I wish we would see more of that in this country. We talk a lot about our opioid problem (everyone should read Empire of Pain to understand how we got here), but there’s little direction at the federal level to counter this problem and a safer supply program is considered illegal under current laws. States often don’t have the funding and resources to build robust programs for treatment and rehab.

In “men will fart an idea and a VC will back them” news, I give you rugs.

Don’t get me wrong. I love rugs. I love startups that genuinely aim to help people live better. But do we really need another rugs startup when Ruggable and RugsUSA and Etsy exist, and what makes Peloton’s founder the right person to launch this startup?

My rant would be unintelligable and contain a lot of curse words, so I’ll give you Meg Conley’s brilliant analysis on this and the system that supports this. This snippet from her essay was profoundly enraging:

“Instead of giving enough capital to many, VCs give too much capital to very few. They double-down on their investments in white manhood and concentrate all their capital on dudes trying to re-invent the apartment. And it’s not because the VCs believe the apartment can be reinvented - it’s because they want white male power to stay the same. “

“A governor can’t fix global inflation. But what we can do is take actions to keep more money in people’s pockets, protect our right to make our own decisions about our bodies,” Whitmer said. “And all of this was squarely front-and-center for a lot of Michigan voters and I suspect that’s probably true for voters across the country.”

Shapiro told Bash that his campaign “showed up and we treated people with respect. And we spoke to them about practical things that would make their lives better.”

I promise this will not become a 2022 election post-mortem newsletter, but I do think it’s important to highlight the winning strategies from two vulnerable state races where the Democrats won up and down the ballot.

Both Whitman and Shapiro didn’t just win their elections, but their strategy helped boost Democrats to win back their state houses as well - and that deserves the same press and accolades that Ron DeSantis is getting.

Give this a read, and then consider how you’ll continue to stay engaged as a citizen. Who represents you at a local and state level will affect you more than who represents you in Congress, and I encourage everyone to begin corresponding with your local officials on issues that matter to you and stay engaged in what’s happening at these levels.

Sandra Velasquez is my fellow C-Suite honoree and a new friend. And her Sunday Routine (one of my favorite features in the New York Times) is one I want to live in as well.

A gentle morning routine. Going for a walk. Exploring the city. Connecting with friends. Writing. Is this what I have to look forward to when my kids are older and aren’t climbing all over us every weekend?

“I wake up naturally around 8 a.m. I try to warm up my body with a quick stretch, like five to 10 minutes, or whatever my trainer has taught me. Recently I’ve tried to focus on eating a healthy breakfast, nothing big, like oatmeal and berries. I’m trying to have a better morning routine, because in the past, I didn’t eat a good breakfast and I was tired all day. Like I would check emails first and then eat something and I can’t do that anymore. For the past four months, I’ve been trying to turn myself around and be on a path of good energy and brainpower.”

I’m feeling inclined to build my 2023 vision board early, centered around these words from Sandra. And I have to give Nolapera a shout out - their moisturizing bar is heaven and perfect for winter travels (keeps your skin moisturized AND it’s a solid, so you don’t have to worry about decanting lotion into a tiny bottle).

Thousands of protestors have been detained in Iran. Death sentences are being issued.

And yet, Iranians seeking freedom continue to speak out and protest, with their lives on the line.

And somehow, Iran is still a member on the United Nations Women’s Rights Commission.

Please, please, please stay informed and share these stories on what’s happening in Iran. If history has taught me anything, it’s that activism is like sand, not rocks. The harder those in power grasp, the less control they have of the masses.

A free Iran is what Iranians deserve, and what the world frankly needs. So please continue to read up on what’s happening and discuss it in the public square.

It matters.

Reply

or to participate.