#5SmartReads - November 3, 2022

Madison on schools without cops, what the nap bishop is saying, and gender-affirming surgery

Madison is a full-time freelance writer who already has the new Backstreet Boys Christmas album on repeat and can't wait for Missouri's weather to stay firmly below 50°F for the next six months.

Abbott Elementary is an incredible piece of art in many respects.

One in particular?

I’ll let Eteng Ettah’s words speak for themselves here:

“To say I’m elated by the show’s choice to exclude them is an understatement. It would have been very easy to insert a ‘lovable’ cop to perpetuate the false narrative that Black people and police must deepen their relationship to one another in order to end police violence.”

Remote workers forced back to offices.

New COVID strains left and right.

Layoffs impacting thousands each day.

It’s all interconnected -- and it’s all disproportionately impacting workers with disabilities.

It is not an exaggeration to say that The Nap Ministry played a pivotal role in my 2020.

For years, the concept of rest as something inherently deserved rather than something that had to be earned through self-sacrifice, was completely foreign to me.

A combination of Tricia Hersey’s public work, Nicole Antoinette’s podcasts and workshops, and my own experiences with burnout have made me a true, true believer in the necessity of living slow, wherever possible.

Gender-affirming healthcare is a human right.

Simple as that. (I also greatly appreciate that Esquire ran this particular article. More blurring of binary, assumed, “traditional” lines, please!)

I’ve revisited this vulnerable feature of Xzibit numerous times.

The main theme I remember from years of watching Pimp My Ride is the pure joy of recipients after they saw their new updates.

Learning how that same joy impacted Xzibit was an unexpected and much-appreciated trip back in time.

Reply

or to participate.