#5SmartReads - November 7, 2022

Abigail on NYC's best driving instructor, friendship, and the canned water wars

Abigail is the Brooklyn based founder of This Needs Hot Sauce, a newsletter and community that just turned 5! She's also the coauthor with Erica Adler of Meal Prep Made Simple, a meal prep ebook designed to make your life easier! When she's not cooking or writing, she loves to read library books, watch SATC reruns and Abbott Elementary, and take long walks.

The Driving Instructor To New York Elites: “If These Walls Could Talk Inside This Car, Oh My God” (Curbed)I grew up in Queens and therefore learned to drive here (we also drove to Long Island to practice in empty parking spots). It's not for the faint of heart and I loved this piece about Shanti Goolijar who teaches Manhattan's elite to drive.

Where is her Gossip Girl cameo? She gives a great interview and is also coping with grief as she navigates her busy career.

Does the climate crisis keep you up at night? Emily Atkin's Heated newsletter is a wonderful source of news and well earned anger (it's been referenced in congress). She recently wrote about how Semafor, a new media company, has Chevron sponsoring its climate newsletter.

Seriously.

Misinformation is so dangerous and this does not make me confident in Semafor's approach to news.

Liquid Death is something I didn't quite get the first time I saw it and now I'm a fan.

It's canned water that's branded with skulls to murder your thirst and the packaging is fun. They also have some really tasty flavors and it's more fun than drinking a water bottle (and more recyclable).

This article calls it the LaCroix for Gen Z.

My other flavor seltzers: Sanzo and Spindrift.

Early voting is open in many states and I wanted to remind you to make a voting plan!

In New York, I like the progressive voting guides from SoftPowerVote.

I love reading about friendship meet cutes and I love asking friends how they met.

It can start with a quick chat at a bar or yoga class or after a breakup when you really need community.

As the holiday season approaches, I want to show extra love for friends who feel like family!

Reply

or to participate.