#5SmartReads - October 18, 2021

Hitha on Reese's pumpkins, voting rights, and Kacey Musgraves

“The key takeaway here is that Orientalism is not just a trendy buzzword, but a fraught framework that grows out of bloody histories of colonialism, capitalism, and domination. It’s simultaneously timely and timeless.”

I’ve never nodded so much or highlight an article more in my decades of news reading.

Namrata Verghese, is it weird to want to read your eventual dissertation? Because I really want to.

Despite how you feel about vaccine mandates, the reality is that they work in keeping their employees or groups alive and safe from COVID.

In the case of law enforcement officers around the country, it’s become the leading cause of death - by a landslide.

As always, if you have any questions or concerns about the COVID vaccines, I’m here to listen and answer them to the best of my ability with no judgement.

Does country music hate women?

Generally speaking, no. But when you dig into the issue a bit more, the sexism that the grand dames - Patsy Cline, Dolly Parton - faced in the beginning of their careers continues to plague artists like Martina McBride, The Chicks, and now Kacey Musgraves.

October 15, 2021 (Heather Cox Richardson)

Voting rights have been a hot button issue for longer than you’d think.

Heather Cox Richardson, as always, breaks it down succinctly and clearly. And while Senator Manchin’s Freedom to Vote Act is almost certainly doomed (though it has support from a number of Republican strategists, like Amanda Carpenter), it’s a fight we will and must continue fighting for.

Our democracy is at stake.

Reese’s eggs and pumpkins have always tasted better to me than the traditional cups. And it turns out there’s a reason why.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go stock up on my Reese’s pumpkins. For myself.

Reply

or to participate.