#5SmartReads - October 19, 2022

Shibani on quiet quitting, Wounded Knee, and the appeal of Harry Styles

Shibani is a regular #5SmartReads contributor. Her fall plans include reading books, finding the perfect fall candles, and making an effort to wear real clothes at least 3 days a week.

I am so charmed by Welcome To Wrexham (streaming on Hulu) and am now committed to learning as much as possible about this endeavor and Wrexham in general.

If you like underdog stories, this is a must-read and must-watch.

This whole conversation around quiet quitting is nonsense.

We need to normalize working normal hours and doing our jobs without always going above and beyond. Frankly we’ve all gone “above and beyond” over the past 2 years, which is how we’re at mass burnout.

Another favorite show is Reservation Dogs (also on Hulu).

As a result of this show, I've been following more indigenous influencers and generally trying to educate myself more on American history in general. Glad to see this property is now back with people from whom it was stolen.

I think about climate change a lot, and what we’re leaving for future generations.

To be honest, I am not a survivalist at all. I can’t really handle the slightest inconvenience. But the thought of being stuck in a bunker with no natural light, always fearful and with the same people is a dystopian nightmare. No thank you!

I'm going to my second Harry Styles concert in the past month.

This month I'm going to see him with 8 other women, 7 of whom are nearly 40 or in their 40s. And we are just a handful of thousands of 40-something women who love Harry.

Here's an exploration of the appeal.

Reply

or to participate.