#5SmartReads - October 8, 2021

Hitha on Afghanistan's future, the debt ceiling drama, and why it feels so good to lie down with your legs on the wall

I hope you all enjoyed a peek at the daily #5SmartReads newsletter! To continue to have #5SmartReads delivered to your inbox every day, you can upgrade your subscription. If it’s not in your budget, just hit reply and I would be happy to grant you complimentary access.

“I had no control over what happened after 9/11, but I do have control over what happens next,” Zahra said. “They [foreign forces] came for their selfish reasons, they left for their selfish reasons, but in between that time, we built an Afghanistan that is worth saving.”

A reminder that just because things aren’t reported on the front page doesn’t mean they’re not happening.

What’s happening in Afghanistan continues to weigh heavy on my heart, but the strength and resilience of Afghan’s young leaders gives me hope. This article gives me hope.

Disclosure - I am an investor in The Juggernaut.

If you want to know why authors are begging folks to preorder their books early, it’s largely because of this.

The pandemic supply chain has hit book production, from raw materials to services to shipping. I won’t lie - this definitely contributed to my stress until I got word that my books had hit the warehouse.

This is also a reminder that pre-orders matter, that audiobooks are always in stock, and that the library is free (and NYPL no longer charges late fees!).

And to pre-order your copy of We’re Speaking if you haven’t already.

Becca mentioned this article in the latest episode of Bad On Paper Podcast, and it is very worthy of your time.

The two exercises recommended are somewhat time-intensive to get started with, but I am putting in the work because my sense of prioritization or enjoyment is so out of whack that I don’t even know anymore.

Highly, highly, highly recommend reading this and doing even just one exercise.

I also recommend that you lie on the ground with your legs on the wall sometime today.

Known as viparita karani, this resting pose drains blood flow from your legs, releases your lower back, unwinds your hamstrings, and leaves you feeling more calm.

Highly recommend you do a meditation with Aditi (on the Peloton app) or Neeti (on Insight Timer) while you lie in this pose, or listen to my favorite low-fi playlist.

October 6, 2021 (Letters from an American)

Confused about the debt ceiling drama that plagued Congress the past couple of weeks? Heather Cox Richardson breaks it all down, clearly and succinctly.

Reply

or to participate.