#5SmartReads - September 27, 2022

Abigail on Sheryl Lee Ralph's acceptance speech, Philly's food scene and salt

Abigail is the Brooklyn based founder of This Needs Hot Sauce, a food media company that includes a newsletter, cooking classes, and a forthcoming ebook (link here)! She's currently planning a trip to London (send her recs) and enjoying the last of the warm weather.

I'm a longtime Elaine Welteroth fan (her Brooklyn stoop wedding was an early pandemic brightspot), and I am loving her new advice column.

Friendship breakups are very painful and there's a lot of shame associated with them. I've been through a few and I can confirm they're more common than you think.

Sometimes friendships don't accommodate growth and change and then it's time to grieve and move on.

On Selling A Lifestyle (From The Desk Of Alicia Kennedy)

Alicia chatted with me for this essay about being a food person online and the pressure it creates to do so many tasks well (cooking, photography, video, writing, etc).

I think this applies to lots of other online spaces and can be really exhausting. Yet it also feels really necessary especially as an entrepreneur. Our conversation was really interesting and reinforced my goal to make my work approachable rather than aspirational—real life is messy and sometimes ugly but there's beauty in the mess.

And then read this fantastic profile that has so many lessons about tenacity and never giving up.

It's inspiring and her success is beyond deserved! Abbott Elementary is back soon for season 2 and it's been a bright spot of this year. Make sure you catch up, you will love it.

I'm a longtime follower of the Philly restaurant scene—I went to college there and it's where I did my first food writing at my college magazine. Back then, the scene was small enough that student reporters like myself were invited to industry events and to cover restaurant openings.

Nearly a decade after I left Philly, the scene is more influencer heavy but a lot is the same (some restaurants have lots of resources, some don't, and PR firms have a lot of power).

Wherever I go, I seek Out Salt (Conde Nast Traveler)

I love an edible gift and I think salt is a great one.

I have some french salt that I got on my last trip to Paris and I treasure it (and the adorable packaging). Salt lasts for a long time and doesn't take up much luggage space.

I'll be getting some while in London!

Reply

or to participate.