• #5SmartReads
  • Posts
  • issue #48 - the one when…i don’t even know

issue #48 - the one when…i don’t even know

How are you guys doing?

I've had good days this week. I've had some hard moments (why, why, why is it so hard to get people to use web conferencing to easily screen share??). I signed up for TikTok, but have no clue how to create anything on it and just end up watching Silky, Kate, Komal, and Mary's videos. And J.Lo.

Over a Zoom girls' night, my friend Neha shared a morning ritual that was incredibly helpful. Every morning, she visualized the best case version of the day, and only focused on the day.

Not the next day, not the week, not the month or year. The day.

While my mornings are not as thoughtful or intentional as Neha's, this ritual gave me a sense of control and calm whenever I did it during a chaotic part in the day. I would go to my bedroom's closet, close my eyes and take a few breaths, and visualize the best case version of the rest of the day.

I would visualize a quiet hour in my room to complete my work. I'd visualize a laugh-filled family dinner. I would visualize snuggling Rhaki in his dark room, listening to his Darth Vader breathing that signaled he was finally asleep. I'd visualize curling up in bed with Rho, finishing yet another Dragon Masters book.

I visualized the bottle of wine I'd share with my father - a lot.

It was a small addition to the day, but one that really helped shift my mindset from one of stress and anxious thoughts to one that was calmer and clearer.

Did my days turn out the way I visualized? Rarely. But did I manage them better? Absolutely.

A few fun things next week - I’m doing a webinar with Female Founders Alliance on Wednesday at 2 pm ET, and Lily Herman and I are going live on that night at 8 pm ET to discuss Beach Read and our mutual love for romance novels right now. Next Friday, I’ll be going on IG Live with The Juggernaut (one of my portfolio companies) on how and what to read during COVID, both to stay informed and for pleasure, around 12 pm ET. I'll also be going live with Mother Honestly on Friday - time and digital venue pending.

And I might have to do another IG Live "Craft & Chat" because that's the only time I end up crafting. Or I might just go to bed early, like I should be doing.

If this is your first e-mail from me, welcome! In addition to writing the book How To Pack, I'm an entrepreneur and angel investor, an avid reader, and a mom of two boys (a 5 year old and an 11 month old).

Every Saturday, I share the 25 best reads from the Internet (culled from the daily shares on my Instagram), the books I've read that week, and things I'm generally loving at the moment. You can join the conversation on all these articles - and more! - in my Facebook group.

Looking for my packing list template? Here you go!

One Smart Thing

  • Julia from @smarterinasec and I did an IG Live this week where we shared random topics that we’re fascinated by, and a mostly non-COVID conversation. Julia shared some relatively unknown details about Prohibition, and I shared why I’m so fascinated by obelisks. We did tackle some COVID and non-COVID questions, shared what we’re reading, and it was a really fun conversation! You can watch the video on IGTV.

#ThingsILove This Week

Another round of small business favorites (that happen to be founded by South Asian women!)

  • Lark Adventurewear makes my favorite pajamas and basics for the boys. The fabric is temperature regulating and SO soft, each item looks like new even after a bazillion washes, and the quality is fantastic.

  • Bubbsi’s coconut oil-based products are another favorite. Their products are so creamy and hydrating and leave your little ones smelling like a cupcake. The bottles double as toys that keep Rhaki occupied as I’m changing his diaper (an increasingly challenging task, given that he lives up to his Rocky Balboa namesake).

  • Lots of Rho’s favorite books were published by Mango & Marigold Press, an independent publisher that shares stories of the South Asian experience. Like Mira Royal Detective, you don’t need to be South Asian to enjoy these books. Always Anjali and Super Satya Saves The Day are two of Rho’s favorites, and Harini & Padmini Say Namaste would be a perfect book if your kids are into Cosmic Kids Yoga.

  • If you think all olive oil tastes the same, you need to try Brightland. It’s the best tasting olive oil I’ve ever had, and the gorgeous bottles finally got me to keep my stove area tidy to better showcase them. I’m proud to be an investor in this company, and highly recommend you try Arise (their new basil olive oil, which helps make the most perfect pesto).(I am an investor in Brightland)

  • You might know Summersalt for their bright, flattering swimsuits and empowering, inclusive campaign. But you should know that they also make incredible loungewear and pajamas as well. If you're dreaming of warmer days, they have a number of styles and colors on sale.

What I read this week

A quick note - I hope you reserve the books I recommend from your local library, or purchase them from your favorite independent bookstore or the audiobook from Libro.fm.

  • Party of Two(ARC provided by NetGalley, out 7/23/20) - I’m deeply invested in the characters that Jasmine Guillory has created, and I look forward to reuniting with them in every book she writes. Party of Two follows Olivia Monroe (sister of Alexa and new LA resident), the meet cute at a hotel bar with a handsome stranger who she discovers is the charismatic young senator of California, and how a relationship emerges from secretive dates to one making headlines and being followed by photographers. In true Guillory form, the book has the depth that I've come to expect from her, and some perfectly written love scenes and moments that just make me hungry. I couldn't help but whip up a boxed cake after reading this book, and you'll probably do the same. And you'll probably hug the book when you finish. It's that sweet.

  • And They Called It Camelot (copy provided by NetGalley) - I’ve had a Jackie Kennedy fascination for years (and documented it in the early days of my blog), and this fictionalized adaption of her life that begins right when she meets JFK is just fantastic. I loved the author’s novel on Alice Roosevelt, and Thornton does not disappoint with her sophomore release. Camelot’s clear prose, rich details, and humanizing touch to iconic characters makes it impossible to put down. I’ve admittedly been underwhelmed by previous fictional treatments of JKO, but this one is outstanding. I can’t wait to discover who Stephanie Marie Thornton writes about next.

Current book reviews here, and here are all my random Amazon favorites.

Hitha’s Favorite Things

The Top 5

The Catch Up

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Reply

or to participate.