5SR - November 15, 2023

LaToya on a story of disenfranchisement, grocery store prices, and breathing

Today’s #5SmartReads contributor is LaToya Lewis-Cox! LaToya, known to friends and family as Lale, is a New York-based Human Resources Professional, Wife & Mommy. Her latest accomplishments include scoring an interview to join the board of a charity that supports young Black girls, and pioneering a program at work called "Bucks for Baby" where her employer will match 529 College Savings funds for all new babies. Oh and learning to not have dessert every single night.

I am hesistant to start with a hard read but if you only read 1 news story from my curation, this is it. This story of disenfranchisement is infuriating, sobering and heartbreaking all at once.

The only bright spot is ProPublica's journalism often leads to change so I will be keeping my eye on any further developments.

Hearing about the things Biden will focus on for the rest of his term is inspiring.

My fave? Max 7% childcare expenses. This would cut my daycare bill by $700 a month alone. I have seen some disappointing remarks regarding voting/Biden and Israel/Gaza.

This article is a reminder that you vote the guy that you mostly agree with and then use your power to push him to do better things. But letting the worse guys win? Not really an option for a Black Mama like me.

Segway into this article about how the Middle East situation is tearing apart once solid relationships. I can't claim to be the most understanding or tolerant person (I don't have a single republican friend) but one thing I know as a Black woman is that people will be on varying degrees of agreement with you, on how they see the world. It's important that we listen to each other, show up, and do our best to use shared viewpoints to move closer to finding solutions. 

I once went to Barbados and went food shopping in an actual grocery store. I will never forget ketchup and steak sauce being $7. Each. Of course I dived into the why when I got home and felt so lucky for small blessings that things were appropriately priced here.

And now here we are, in America with things costing astronomical amounts and feeling like it's never going to end. I want to call it corporate greed but the reality (like most things) is more complex. 

The holidays are stressful. I tried this breathing exercise and felt better. In, Out, and a snack are my cures for everything!

Join the conversation

or to participate.