5SR - November 16, 2023

Marisa on navigating the US health system, Matthew Perry, and Taylor & Travis

Today’s contributor is Marisa! Marisa is a corporate employee benefits account executive, a freelance writer and #5SmartReads contributor, a mom to one, and the self-appointed president of the Taylor Swift/Travis Kelce fan club.
Currently reading: The Once and Future Witches by Alix E. Harrow.
Currently listening to: Homecoming by Kate Morton

It's open enrollment season for lots and lots of companies across the country, not to mention Medicare and the exchange, so if there was a ever a time to be thinking about making sure you understand how your health insurance works and what to do if you come up against any unexpected costs, this is it.

Luckily for you, this is my industry, and my offer is sincere: if you are in the middle of open enrollment right now and you are confused about what to do, feel free to shoot me a DM and I will do my best to help you figure it out!

Well this is... alarming.

As a semi-frequent traveler, news that the air traffic controller shortage is getting to the point where it will take YEARS to fill the backlog just doesn't make me feel the warm and fuzzies ya know? I would like to see some bipartisan action on this one to ensure that our airways and runways are as safe as possible, and I'm pleased that on this issue at the very least there does seem to be consensus across party lines.

More of that please, Washington?

With the 60th anniversary of JFK's death upon us next week, we are at peak JFK conspiracy content... and I continue to be here for it. Last month I shared an article about new eyewitness testimony being shared with the public for the first time; here we get a deep dive into the national archives and what we can learn from things like documents held and archived by none other than the CIA.

Spoiler alert - there's some pretty solid evidence out there that the Warren Commission intentionally misled, and possibly just straight up lied to, the American people. More than that, there's also compelling evidence that the entire thing is an elaborate coverup. Kennedy history buffs rejoice: this one is a treasure trove!

Friends was an EXTREMELY formative part of my youth. I remember obsessing about Monica and Chandler's wedding, and hosting a watch party with my then-best friend to see Rachel and Ross have their baby. I used to (only half jokingly) tell friends in college that everything I knew about adulting I learned from this show.

I know that there are a lot of things about it that are kind of cringey now, and that you certainly couldn't make the same show with the same punchlines today, but I think the perspective in this opinion piece is a really good one: Friends changed the cultural narrative in the United States for the better.

Can't stop, won't stop with the Taylor Swift/Travis Kelce content - here or in my personal life. But honestly, as someone who has lived in Kansas City for the entirety of my adult life, and who is (most of the time) proud to call it my adopted hometown, getting to see a real live, non-sports celebrity interacting with beloved local places here is a BIG DEAL.

I know a lot of people think it's silly, especially those who live in NYC and LA and see celebrities all the time, but imagine if it were Minneapolis or Denver or Dallas? It would be the same way - we aren't used to having mega-famous people in our midst, and not gonna lie... I think we kind of like it.

Plus, as the great Beach Reads & Bubbly said... it's like a real life romance novel. How lucky that we get to be along for the ride!

Join the conversation

or to participate.