5SR - October 30, 2023

Shibani on legal abortions, holiday shopping, and tattoos

A native of Mumbai, Shibani has spent the last 20 years in Cleveland, Ohio. She spends her free time reading (196 books and counting this year), on her Peloton, walking her dogs, and attending fun events around Cleveland. Lately she's been inspired by the Great British Baking Show and plans to expand her bread-making skills this fall. You can find her book reviews on Instagram and Goodreads!

Increased abortion access and women's healthcare in general are on the ballot in Ohio on 11/7. I am an unequivocal supporter of women's rights to make decisions about their own healthcare with their doctors - the government has absolutely NO business messing with our bodily economy.

Besides the basic right to deciding what happens to your body, medical miscarriage management is included in the definition of abortion. It is absolutely unconscionable that a woman going through such an experience would be denied basic healthcare, which is why I will be voting YES on Issue 1. 

When Roe v Wade was overturned, like so many, I was absolutely distraught. Interestingly, the number of abortions has increased since the Supreme Court decision and this piece dives further into that metric and what is happening.

It feels like we've come full circle on tipping since the pandemic.

Back in 2020, we were tipping generously, and now, there seems to be general resentment toward tip prompts, particularly on services that were previously not tipped services.

“Inflation and general economic unease seem to be making Americans stingier with their tipping habits, yet we’re confronted with more invitations to tip than ever"

If you've been wondering if every retailer is having some sort of sale right now, you're not wrong. And the reason is this

"48% of young shoppers (ages 18-29) say they would definitely or probably start shopping earlier if retailers offered deals earlier."

Consumption behavior is absolutely fascinating to me and if you share this interest, you will enjoy this piece!

I got my first tattoo at 18, and it got me on a long journey of several tattoos.

My first few were regrettable - I even have a 90s tramp stamp. I took a long break before getting myself one for my 30th birthday and I’ve been on a tear ever since.

My left arm is almost completely covered in art and surprise, I have a very corporate job in finance.

I like to end these with something fun, and what's more fun than donuts? And even though donuts are not my favorite breakfast dough (I KNOW, it's weird) this story is absolutely fascinating! I hope it inspires you to grab your own donut this morning!

Join the conversation

or to participate.