5SR - October 6, 2023

Hitha on hotels, the "nones", and the author behind my favorite books

Today’s curator is the founder of #5SmartReads, Hitha Palepu. She’s a consummate multihyphenate - CEO of Rhoshan Pharmaceuticals, author of WE’RE SPEAKING: The Life Lessons of Kamala Harris and How to Pack: Travel Smart for Any Trip, and professional speaker. Hitha is an unabashed fan of Taco Bell, Philadelphia sports teams & F1, romance novels, and is a mediocre crafter. She lives in NYC with her husband and two sons.

I don’t think I’m alone when I say I respect a person’s right to worship however they like, but am firmly against laws made from a specific religion’s doctrine.

Secularism is one of the most important parts of our constitution, and has been adopted by other democracies in their own - including India.

We’re starting to see the fall of secularism worldwide, and we tend to focus on those bringing their faith into laws when we study this issue. The equally important - and often missing - side of this argument is the nonreligious. And this reporting on the “nones” - Indians not affiliated with any religion - is a must read.

I love a nuanced read, especially on issues that tend to be presented in very binary ways. This does a fantastic job of doing so, especially on such a sensitive issue.

One of my highlights of the year (and life) was attending a morning tea with Victoria Schwab, one of my favorite authors.

Every time I read her books (currently re-reading her Shades of Power trilogy before I start Fragile Threads), I think about something she said about her approach to fantasy and creating a world just slightly different from our own, and her specific prose allowing for the reader to create their own journey within the book.

Schwab trusts her reader in a way that is so unique in fantasy, which is often overly descriptive and tightly plotted that leaves little room for interpretation or exploration within the book.

To learn how and why your favorite author writes the way they do is a gift, and that’s exactly what Lauren Puckett-Pope’s interview with Schwab is. Give it a read, and then please read her entire backlist.

I’ve been enjoying the charm and details of boutique hotels lately, but if I can get a Peloton in my room and my favorite NA spirit in the hotel bar, I’ll be happy to give the larger hoteliers another look. And that’s exactly what they’re betting on.

A Hilton report on travel trends highlighted traveler’s priorities - good sleep, technology from booking to the hotel’s amenities, hyper-local experiences, and blending business and leisure (Hilton calls it “bleisure”, but I prefer workcation).

I’ll take all of these, especially if I’m spending more than a night at the property and want to maintain my routine. Especially that in-room Peloton.

Speaking of Peloton, Tunde Oyeneyin is one of my favorite instructors. Though some of her workouts or her messages make me cry.

The consummate multi-hyphenate - makeup artist, Nike athelete, bestselling author in addition to Peloton instructor - is also prophetic. This quote explains why I get my best ideas when I’m working out:

“Working out can be an incredible space to deliver a message,” she says. It’s part of the reason Tunde uses her classes to discuss topics like race issues or LGBTQ+ inclusion. “You’re in a controlled, motivating setting, and your body is under stress. The amount of energy it takes to be resistant in that moment? It’s easier to just feel,” she says. “You receive information differently, at a deeper level.”

Oyeneyin replies “confidence builder” when asked what she does. I’d wholeheartedly agree.

Despite the fact these drugmakers are still pursuing lawsuits fighting Medicare negotiations, they’re moving forward with them.

As a refresher, one of the provisions in the Inflation Reduction Act is allowing Medicare to negotiate price with manufacturers for 10 drugs they select. The drugs selected are highly used medications to treat chronic disease. Medicare enrollees spent $3.4B out of pocket for these medications in 2022, and I think this is a necessary and important move for the government and industry.

While I both unsurprised and confused about the manufacturers continued lawsuits, I’m glad to see them coming to the negotiating table.

Join the conversation

or to participate.