5SR - September 13, 2023

Hitha on cables, COVID, and a reframe I desperately needed

Today’s curator is the founder of #5SmartReads, Hitha Palepu. She’s a consummate multihyphenate - CEO of Rhoshan Pharmaceuticals, author of WE’RE SPEAKING: The Life Lessons of Kamala Harris and How to Pack: Travel Smart for Any Trip, and professional speaker. Hitha is an unabashed fan of Taco Bell, Philadelphia sports teams & F1, romance novels, and is a mediocre crafter. She lives in NYC with her husband and two sons.

“Harris is also dogged by a false narrative that she’s not up to the job on foreign policy — one undoubtedly amplified by misogyny and racism on the far right. This portrayal typically focuses on her one imperfect interview in Guatemala two years ago or the time she accidentally described North Korea as a U.S. ally during a visit to the demilitarized zone. In fact, since 2021, Harris has met with dozens of Asian leaders, including the heads of all five U.S. treaty allies in the region (Japan, South Korea, the Philippines, Australia and Thailand), many of them multiple times — patiently reinforcing ties that are crucial to U.S. interests in the Indo-Pacific.”

Only in recent administrations has the Vice President’s role been elevated in a consequential way, and come under the scrutiny that a president’s has. And while Vice President Harris has had to deal with some extra criticism due to being the first vice president who wasn’t a white man, she shares the “well, what does she actually do?” criticism with her predecessors.

The impact of long term policy efforts - like Harris’ efforts in the ASEAN region - will be felt long after she’s moved on from her role, but they are increasingly important in a changing geopolitical world. And while I wish reporting like these was in the US or World section of the paper, this op-ed is thoughtfully researched and written.

I hope you take the time to read it (link is gifted via my subscription)

On Seeing Your Children as Whole (Magpie by Jen Shoop)

I had a particularly hard people day yesterday, and I got sucked down in things out of my control that I desperately wanted to control - in the specific outcome, it happening my way, and on my timeline.

I have a list in my Notes app of named “Hard Day” where I have a list of podcast episodes, playlist links, and reads that remind me of what is in my control (only how I react) and to help me process the chaos swirling in my head and usually in my home.

This is one of those reads. And while the specifics of the essay that inspired Jen to write this essay aren’t my reality, the reminder to seek out what’s unique and special and to seek out the good things (if we’re lucky, there is something good we can find) to honor while we deal with the hard things.

There are times when it feels like the Venn diagram of parenting young kids and managing a team is just a circle, and yesterday was one of those days for me. But reading Jen’s words and jotting down a few things that I value in my children and my team did help me end the day on a more peaceful note.

You know I love a deep dive about random things. Having started my career at Cisco, I also have a soft spot for all things connectivity and networking.

Which makes this a perfect Hitha read. But since you’re reading this newsletter thanks to the Internet, it’s worth digging into this article while eating lunch or taking a quick work break today.

That so much of the increasingly sophisticated technology we use today is powered by comparatively low-tech cables is a marvel itself - especially since it carries more than 99% of traffic between continents. Yes, even today.

That we are still relying on technology that we used in the 1800s to communicate today is a marvel, and a reminder to respect the OGs that have given way to the things that we often take for granted today.

Could this be the documentary that convinces the rest of America that Philadelphia fans aren’t actually the worst?

Probably not. But you may become a begrudging fan of Jason Kelce, even if your team is also in the NFC East. Because how do you not love a man who loves his family, his brother, his team, and his city the way Jason Kelce does?

You can’t. It’s impossible.

Kelce exceeded my already high expectations and had me tearing up throughout. It’s an excellent documentary, and that it was produced by one of my favorite retired Eagles Connor Barwin just made me happy.

If you love football, you’ll love it. If you love seeing a family go through a major decision and one of the biggest moments of their lives, you’ll love it. If you want to see a father grapple between career and family (something we don’t see nearly enough), you’ll love it.

Basically, everyone will love it. Unless you’re a Dallas Cowboys fan…

I will be getting my flu shot and COVID vaccine as soon as my pharmacy has them in stock (and I’ve also replenished my supply of KN95 masks for fall travels and public transit trips).

While I’m glad to see FDA and CDC working in concert to authorize these vaccines quickly, the issue of equity is a bigger issue with the government not funding the purchase of these vaccines for every American, as Dr. Uché Blackstock details on American Voices:

With a new variant taking hold and the vaccines still showing efficacy in preventing serious illness, hospitalization, and death, I hope you take the time to read through this reporting and make your health plans for the upcoming viral season.

Join the conversation

or to participate.