5SR - September 27, 2023

Taber on California's new gun tax, Lyme disease, and Emmy Noether

Today’s #5SmartReads are curated by a pop-in guest, Taber Stockstill-Tornes. Taber is the editorial lead for #5SmartReads (aka the person who runs this ship - Hitha’s words). She spends most of her time with her almost 2 year old, husband, and 2 dogs near, or at the beach, in North Carolina.

I worry this is trying to put a band-aid on a heart-attack survivor and thinking they’re healed. One wants that to be the fix, easier than surgery, but in reality it does nothing to the root problem.

"Taxing firearm sales to fund violence intervention programs is essential to interrupting the cycle of violence and stopping gun violence before it begins, and we encourage other states to follow suit,"

Kris Brown

I know Kris Brown has high hopes but from what I have experienced, growing up in the state of Oklahoma, taxing products doesn’t usually have the positive outcomes that were intended. 

With all that being said, I can respect California for trying to do something, anything, about the huge gun violence problem in the United States. I truly hope this tax initiative works, and deeply impacts the communities that are frequently harmed by gun violence.

A few days ago I saw this Reel from Shivaun:

The marches, petitions and, more importantly, the civil unrest after the deaths of Black people like Breonna Taylor and George Floyd did not create more equity between different skin colors in America.

This article proves that point when the authors say:

“While some progress has been made in terms of editorial leadership, it's less clear to the extent in which those efforts are trickling down to newsrooms broadly.”

THAT is what America needs. Change at the root, or no change took place.

Five Reasons Local Elections Matter (Down Home North Carolina)

I am helping a good friend with his campaign for City Council in my town, I’m learning A LOT. My parents are avid voters, so I was always aware of local elections, but it wasn’t until Hitha’s preaching that I really paid close attention to them.

This is a quick and easy read as a reminder on why local elections can have just as much, if not more, power than presidential elections. Its a voting year in Wilmington, North Carolina, and most likely in your city/town too. Go check to see if you have a local election on November 7th!

P.S. Are you registered to vote? We know Taylor Swift is.

Lyme Disease was introduced to pop-culture when Yolanda Hadid was on the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills.She and many others are often accused of making the disease and its symptoms up.

Growing up in Oklahoma, and being outside often, I have heard about Lyme Disease for as long as I can remember. Now it’s certainly on the rise, and not just because a reality star has it. The CDC says nearly 500,000 cases diagnosed last year - climate change has been a factor, as ticks seem to thrive in humidity and warmer climates.

A vaccine is being worked on, though it’s a number of years away (but there is hope!)

I know sunshine and warm weather is coming to a close for a big portion of the country, but keep this article in mind next summer. If you live somewhere warm year round, always keep this article and knowledge in your back pocket.

Ending on a random but fascinating note!

Honestly, I found this one by googling “good news for September” because sometimes (most of the time) media is scary. I do this a few times a month, and highly recommend it.

In fourth grade I did a report on women inventors, where I learned that a woman invented windshield wipers. I digress, anytime a woman is recognized in an appropriate manner, I squeal!

Enjoy this read on a woman rarely talked about, yet who had a lasting impact on the world of science.

Join the conversation

or to participate.